Home > Teabagged!, Women and gaming > Me and My Gun

Me and My Gun

OMG!! I’m one of “them”!!  How in hell did this happen??? I used to be such a nice girl. Now, I’ve become that stereotypical gamer… spending my evenings loading up some shooter game and yelling at people into the mic.  The fact that I’m old (49) and female, well that’s irrelevant because I’ve become exactly how I always thought gamers were – addicts who bought SOCOM or HALO and played them night after night.

I don’t really know how it happened.  It was never my intention.  I look at the games scattered near my console and most every night I find myself playing an FPS or shooter game – usually MAG, Homefront, L4D2, Resistance 2, KZ2 or sometimes Warhawk.  I find this odd.  I don’t like guns. I’ve never fired a gun in real life. I don’t know guns and always think a SCAR is a mark left by an injury, or that FAMAS is somebody misspelling Famous (OMG… I’m Famas!)  I don’t even know the differences between an SMG and an assault rifle and they all kind of seem the same to me – point, shoot.   Terms like bullet spread, grips and suppressors always sound vaguely S&M dirty to me.

It wasn’t always this way.  I played all the Tomb Raider games, I played RPG’s like Baldur’s Gate and Icewind Dale on the PC, and Shenmue and TimeStalkers on the Dreamcast.  I loved the horror genre and eagerly played the Resident Evil games, D2, Shadow Man and many others.  Sure, there was shooting in Tomb Raider games, in Blue Stinger, RE and other genres… but they were still more story oriented and had many other gaming aspects.  Nowadays I don’t even want to bother with the campaign, I just want to play the online game and shoot people.  I played Killzone 2 for over 3 months before I finallly went back and played the campaign mode – on easy, just to get through it as quick as possible, just to see what it was like.

I want to get excited about games like InFamous, Batman or Brutal Legend…. but I just know that I’d rather be playing an online game… with guns.  I do occasionally play other genres… I’ve played Flower and it was fine, for short while, but I think it would have been more fun with a gun.

I do usually have an offline game that I play when I finally tire of shooters and just want to relax.  It used to be Oblivion, it’s currently Sacred 2 and my next game will be Dragon Age:Origins.  But these are games I play when I can’t play online, or am just too tired to play something that requires any thinking and these are my “relax and vegetate” games… games that tend to be fairly repetitious, easy, long and their own world.

Last night I was a squad leader in the MAG beta,  issuing orders to my squad, co-ordinating with my Platoon Leader, working as a team to achieve various objectives… getting annoyed with a sniper who was picking us off as we neared an objective and ordering my troops to “take him out”.  There’s something very empowering about working as a team with real people and achieving the small goals you set for yourself or your group.  I think for me the attraction to shooter games has absolutely nothing to do with guns… and everything to do with the teamwork.  I find that in about 50% of the games I’m in, I end up with a great group of people where several are on mic and there’s a real feeling of camaraderie even with random strangers.  I don’t know why I have such good luck, but it happens often enough that online FPS gaming has become quite addictive for me.

I do want to expand my horizons, try other games… I know at some point I’ll buy and play Bioshock 2 – but it’s still a secondary game for me, something to play when I’m not hauling ass across a map to help a teammate.  Borderlands currently tops my list of “most wanted”… but while it’s an RPG, it’s the promise of all those lovely guns that has me excited!

I guess it’s not so bad being one of “those” gamers.  It’s not really the guns, it’s the teamwork and social environment.
🙂

Oh… and I did buy Uno… hoping to get some social play without shooting someone, but really… just before someone plays a 7 and trades their stack of 8 cards for your single card, don’t you think a headshot animation would be appropriate??

  1. September 22, 2015 at 1:29 pm

    your hair color and style reminded me of reba mcentire and her song the night the lights went out in Georgia. “little sister don’t miss when she aims her gun”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

